Skip to content

Sous Chef Baby

It was one of those mother-daughter moments
I never even knew I was waiting for –
My little girl and I prepping mushrooms for dinner.
We sat across from each other on the floor
With placements under our cutting boards to catch those that rolled away.
I, with a super sharp chef’s knife
And J, with a dull and soon to be frustrating, butter knife.
Chopping together, in preparation for tonight’s dinner.
I handed her a mushroom
She attempted with great effort to split them in two
And pass them back to me.
I diced them into itty bitty pieces,
Perfect for a mushroom thoren.
Just like my Mummy used to make
Just like Ammachi used to make, baby.
And just like Momma will make.

No comments yet

Leave a Reply

