Skip to content

Slippery

Oh J, the ice is slippery.
“Be careful, Momma.”
“I’ll hold you.”
And I’ll hold you, sweet girl.
We can hold each other on the ice,
And skate and dance and even slide.

I see this sweet face,
Hear the tenderness in her words,
And I can feel the gentle strength of little arms trying to keep me safe.

This little love was born with an impulse to care for others.
Day in, day out, we share in the giving and receiving of love,
In our good morning greetings, bagel shop outings, and sleepy time rituals.
I take care of her,
And she heals so much in me.
She is my gift, my grace, my connection to God.

It’s in the slippery moments
That I hold her
And she holds me
We take care of each other
Forever and ever.
This is my prayer.
Amen.

 

No comments yet

Leave a Reply

